Sunday, December 8, 2013

Sporting Kansas City is the winner of MLS for 2013

Sporting Kansas City is the winner of MLS for 2013
Sporting Kansas City defeat Real Salt Lake after penalties and won the MLS Cup for 2013
At Sporting Park in front of 21.650 spectators, the regular 90 minutes ended without a winner.

Saborio corralled a pitch-perfect ball over the top from Beckerman and blasted a right-footed shot into the back of the net from just outside the box to stake Salt Lake to a 1-0 lead. In 76th minute after good perform by Zusi from corner kick, defender Collin scored for 1-1.

Collin’s goal came after RSL missed two agonizing chances in the second half. First Beckerman in the 62nd minute, and Morales in the 73rd minute.

Findley found himself with an open look at net, but his shot from a tight angle on the right side of the goal caromed harmlessly off the post before Nielsen corralled it, leaving Findley with his head in his hands while he lamented the chance.

Claudio Bieler, Paulo Nagamura, Benny Feilhaber, Seth Sinovic, C.J. Sapong and Chance Myers all scored in the shootout for Kansas City, while Kyle Beckerman, Joao Plata, Javier Morales, Chris Schuler, Tony Beltran and Nat Borchers converted for Real Salt Lake.

Experienced Nielsen defends shot to substitution Palmer for big celebration players and fans in Kansas City.

Coach Peter Vermes says he'll give himself a day to bask in the glory before tackling their next target.

"I made a joke earlier right after the president and owner came over to me on the field. I said, 'That's great. Now let's go and win the Champions League,'" Vermes said. "Give me one day to just relax and enjoy this, but that's hopefully the next thing on our list. "

Sporting's only other MLS Cup win came 13 years ago, when they posted a 1-0 victory over the Chicago Fire at RFK Stadium in Washington.

No comments: