Saturday, May 3, 2014

A-League Grand Final: Brisbane Roar vs Western Sydney Wanderers

A-League Grand Final: Brisbane Roar vs Western Sydney Wanderers
A-League has reached the end and the Grand Final will mark a successful season for the teams that will remeasure their strengths 4th May at Suncorp Stadium

Much has been made of the A-League's late finish to the season affecting the quality of the pitches, but in reality the 2014 grand final is only two weeks later than the 2013 edition. What's more important than its May date is that the match is being playing at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane.

If Brisbane Roar win on home turf on the weekend they will have claimed three A-League titles and two Premier's Plates in four years, capping the most successful era for any one club in the history of the competition.

The Western Sydney Wanderers, meanwhile, are the new kids on the block who have given Australian domestic football a major shake-up in the two short years of their existence.

Many think that this finale decide duels of individuals, and particularly stand out duels:
Thomas Broich v Jerome Polenz
Luke Brattan v Shinji Ono
Besart Berisha v Nikola Topor-Stanley & Matthew Spiranovic

Roar and Wanderers have played mutually three times this season and host has more success, although two drawn results give some hope for the team from Sydney.

"There's going to be 52,000 people here, I'm led to believe between 8 and 10,000 Western Sydney fans, and that means there's going to be 40 to 42,000 people dressed in orange cheering us on," Mike Mulvey said.

"We've got our eye on the prize. We've won the Premiership and we're very, very pleased with that, but that was then, this is now.

"Dare I say it, this is Queensland versus New South Wales.

"This is 'The Cauldron', and we're going to be up for the fight, you'd better believe it."

Which team will be crowned Champions of the 2013/14 Hyundai A-League season?
Brisbane Roar
Western Sydney Wanderers
Poll Maker

No comments: